Book Review: “Old Babes in the Wood” Tales

Margaret Atwood has blown us away yet again with her latest literary masterpiece, a collection of fifteen short stories that take a deep dive into the complexities of family relationships, marriage, loss, and memory. Titled “The Heart Goes Last,” this exquisite work of art speaks to our times with Atwood’s characteristic insight, wit, and intellect. And if you’re an Atwood fan who’s only read her novels, let me tell you – you’ve been missing out.

The New York Times Book Review describes the collection as a “rollicking good time and a deep exploration of human relationships.” It’s true, as each story will take you on a journey that will leave you feeling a range of emotions, from delight to devastation. The range of emotions is something that Atwood excels at, and “The Heart Goes Last” is no exception.

One of the most extraordinary stories in the collection is the titular story, “The Heart Goes Last,” which is about two intrepid sisters grappling with loss and memory on a perfect summer evening. We join them on their journey, navigating through their inner turmoil, fears, and desires. Atwood’s writing perfectly captures the intricacies of human emotion, making us feel like we’re right there with them, experiencing everything firsthand.

Another exceptional story is “Impatient Griselda,” which explores alienation and miscommunication with a fresh twist on a folkloric classic. Atwood’s creativity shines through in this piece, taking something familiar and breathing new life into it with her unique perspective.

What sets “The Heart Goes Last” apart from other collections is its heart. There are moments in the stories that will tug at your heartstrings, leaving you with a profound sense of empathy for the characters. Atwood’s writing is so exquisite that you can’t help but get lost in the pages, feeling everything the characters feel.

At the heart of the collection are seven extraordinary stories that follow a married couple across the decades, highlighting the moments big and small that make up a long life of uncommon love – and what comes after. These stories are a true testament to Atwood’s humanity and her ability to weave a narrative that speaks to the essence of what it means to be human.

“My Evil Mother” is another standout story in the collection, touching on the fantastical and examining a mother-daughter relationship in which the mother purports to be a witch. Atwood masterfully explores the intricacies of the relationship between mothers and daughters, bringing it to life in a way that will leave you feeling a deep sense of empathy for both characters.

Returning to short fiction for the first time since her 2014 collection Stone Mattress, Atwood’s creativity is on full display in “The Heart Goes Last.” Each story is unique, yet they all come together to create a cohesive whole that is greater than the sum of its parts. Atwood is writing at the top of her considerable powers, delivering a collection that is both impactful and thought-provoking.

In conclusion, “The Heart Goes Last” is a must-read for anyone who loves exceptional storytelling. Atwood has once again proven why she is one of the most visionary and canonical authors of our time. Her writing is powerful, evocative, and deeply moving. If you’re an Atwood fan, you won’t be disappointed. And if you’re new to her work, this collection is the perfect introduction to one of the greatest writers of our time. So, what are you waiting for? Get your copy today and experience the magic of “The Heart Goes Last” for yourself.
“Ready to dive into an unforgettable literary journey? Buy the book now or dive into a 30-day trial of Audible and experience the story come to life with every word. Don’t wait any longer and start your journey today!”
Price: $14.99
(as of Mar 24, 2023 08:04:28 UTC – Details)

Ready to start listening? Sign up for a 30-day free trial of Amazon’s Audible service and enjoy free audiobooks and more!

Previous Post
Review of the Book “The Secret Plot to Kill Roosevelt, Stalin, and Churchill: The Nazi Conspiracy”
Next Post
Book Review: Never Never – A Romance with Twists and Angst

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed